Articles & News
GLUTEN FREE BEER - NOW AVAILABLE AT THE HOME VINTNER
Posted by Paul Sass, February 29th, 2012 | 1 Comment
We're excited to announce that after much research, The Home Vintner has sourced ingredients to make a gluten-free beer kit which also includes gluten-free brewing yeast.
Gluten-free beer is beer, whether it is an ale or a lager style that is made from ingredients that do not contain glycoproteins (gluten). People who have a gluten intolerance (including celiacs and dermatitis herpetiformis sufferers) have a reaction to certain proteins in the grains commonly used to make beer, barley and wheat, and so for them to be able to enjoy a pint, the product must be gluten free. It is also important to note that many people today are also choosing to lead a gluten free lifestyle and so Brew Masters from around the world are working hard to create styles that will ensure that everyone can enjoy a great tasting beer whenever they want
What are Gluten-Free Beers Made Of?
So, what do all these beers all have in common? Simple; they don't contain gluten. Which means they're either brewed with malted grains that don't contain traces of gluten, such as buckwheat, sorghum or rice. (Note: buckwheat is a member of the rhubarb family, and not related to wheat at all) or they're made with another fermentable sugar, such as honey, candy sugar or pear juice.
Post filed under: Ask The Vintner
Post a Comment
What are your thoughts? Simply fill out this form below to post a comment.